Day 22

Coomalie Farm to Darwin  86 km Final Day

Started the day with free bacon and egg sangers care of the Northern Territory Motor Enthusiasts Club then we waited around for the Air Force to turn up with their kero to noise machines but alas no show.  Anyone choosing to invade Australia here is a clue do it on Sunday morning.

So our final bit of motoring into Darwin was mostly good however Bevars and Lois had a flat and bent the rim(?) so one and a half hours in the Darwin sun to fix. Rod Cripps had a flat 500m from the destination and Marcus after rebuilding the carby on the Harley at last had it running well until a bolt fell off which put an end to all that smooth running.

The NT Motoring Enthusiasts again put on a meal (thanks guys) at the Qantas Hangar which people had trouble finding as it’s airfield is now suburbia so an unlikely place for a hangar.

Finale was at the Darwin Ski Club a great venue if only I had realised that Sunday night is band night so conversation was difficult but the sun setting over the water made up for it. Trophies were awarded for the following:

Peoples Choice Motorcycle Graham Hammond 1918 Indian
Peoples Choice Car Alan Maden 1917 American La France
Longest Distance Travelled Joy Rainey 1904 Oldsmobile
Good Samaritan Award Chris Dillon 1909 Minerva
Hard Luck Award Michael Holding 1910 Buick

Thanks to the following:

Shayne Harris (Rally Books and Survey)
Les Johnson (Rally Medallions)
NT Motoring Enthusiasts (Breakfast and Lunch)
Shannons (The Lunch itself)
RACV (Goody bags)
Lightning (Cleaning Products)
Daniel Sargent (For Towing the much needed workshop)

Special Thanks for their hard work fixing just about anything:

Ian Sargent
Daniel Sargent
Brian Flemming
Neil Bromilow
Colin Stoddart



This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *